South Carolina Chamber of Commerce

The unified voice of business

Media Center

Press Release: South Carolina Chamber of Commerce Releases 2012 Legislative Scorecard

September 27, 2012
Press Release: South Carolina Chamber of Commerce Releases 2012 Legislative Scorecard

41 Legislators Earn Perfect Scores

Columbia, S.C. — The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the state’s unified voice of business, has released the 2012 Legislative Year-In-Review and Scorecard with 41 legislators earning perfect scores and 62 percent of legislators scoring 80 percent or above.

Through the South Carolina Chamber’s direct advocacy efforts at the State House in 2012 and through strong alliances with other industry trade associations, businesses will benefit from more than $800 million in legislative changes designed to make businesses more competitive.

Each legislative session, the Chamber tracks key business roll call votes and tallies all votes to determine an overall score for each member of the General Assembly. In 2012, the Chamber tracked key votes on a variety of business issues, including: the Smith Land Company case, port expansion, retirement system reform, unemployment insurance tax relief, a small business tax cut, disqualification of unemployment benefits for workers fired for misconduct, the Closing Fund and more.

“With today’s global competition for jobs and an unemployment rate of more than 9 percent, we must focus on job creating business priorities. It is imperative that the state is on the cutting edge and the business community holds legislators accountable on votes that directly impact the business climate and competitiveness of the state,” said Otis Rawl, president and CEO of the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce.

Legislators who scored a perfect 100 percent and thus will receive a Business Advocate Award are:

Senator Thomas Alexander (Oconee)
Senator Paul Campbell (Berkeley)
Senator Ronnie Cromer (Newberry)
Senator Greg Gregory (Lancaster)
Senator Hugh Leatherman (Florence)
Senator Larry Martin (Pickens)
Senator Billy O’Dell (Abbeville)
Senator Greg Ryberg (Aiken)
Senator Nikki Setzler (Lexington)
Senator David Thomas (Greenville)
Senator Danny Verdin (Laurens)

Representative Todd Atwater (Lexington)
Representative Nathan Ballentine (Richland)
Representative Bruce Bannister (Greenville)
Representative Eric Bedingfield (Greenville)
Representative Kenny Bingham (Lexington)
Representative Alan Clemmons (Horry)
Representative Kris Crawford (Florence)
Representative Bill Crosby (Charleston)
Representative Greg Delleney (Chester)
Representative Tracy Edge (Horry)
Representative Dan Hamilton (Greenville)
Representative Bobby Harrell (Charleston)
Representative Phyllis Henderson (Greenville)
Representative Bill Herbkersman (Beaufort)
Representative Bill Hixon (Aiken)
Representative Dwight Loftis (Greenville)
Representative Phillip Lowe (Florence)
Representative Jay Lucas (Darlington)
Representative Peter McCoy (Charleston)
Representative Wendy Nanney (Greenville)
Representative Ralph Norman (York)
Representative Phil Owens (Pickens)
Representative Kevin Ryan (Georgetown)
Representative Murrell Smith (Sumter)
Representative Garry Smith (Greenville)
Representative Roland Smith (Aiken)
Representative Tommy Stringer (Greenville)
Representative Bill Taylor (Aiken)
Representative Mark Willis (Greenville)
Representative Tom Young (Aiken)

The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the nation’s first state chamber Accredited with Distinction by the U.S. Chamber, is South Carolina’s largest statewide broad-based business and industry trade association representing more than 18,000 businesses and more than one million employees, with 90 percent of membership comprised of small businesses. As the unified voice for business and industry, the Chamber is a catalyst for increasing prosperity and enhancing the state’s global competitiveness in order to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians.

« Back to Media Center




The South Carolina Chamber would like to thank the following: