« Back to News

S.C. Chamber Announces 2015 Public Servant of the Year

Author: Gena McGroarty

Source: SC Chamber Press Release

October 13, 2015

Contact: Gena McGroarty
Email: gena.mcgroarty@scchamber.net

Columbia, S.C. – The South Carolina Chamber is proud to announce Governor Nikki Haley as its 2015 Public Servant of the Year. Governor Haley will be awarded on November 12, 2015 at the Chamber’s 36th Annual Summit in Hilton Head Island:

“We are blessed to live in a place where our Governor has put her heart and soul into making our state and the business community better,” said S.C. Chamber President Ted Pitts. “We especially applaud Governor Haley for her leadership after the Charleston tragedy in bringing our state together at a time when we could’ve easily been divided. The Governor’s guidance during trying times has had a significant and positive impact on the state of South Carolina. We are lucky to have Governor Haley as our Governor and the South Carolina Chamber is proud to be able to recognize her as the public servant of the year at our 36th Annual Summit.”

Public Servant of the Year
Governor Nikki Haley

Nikki Randhawa Haley was re-elected as the 116th Governor of South Carolina in 2014 by the largest margin of victory for a South Carolina gubernatorial candidate in 24 years. During her first term, Governor Haley, the first female and the first minority governor in South Carolina history and currently the youngest governor in the country, delivered results to the people of every part of our state. Under the governor’s leadership, South Carolina’s jobless rate hit record lows, the state announced more than 70,000 jobs in 45 of 46 counties, more than 25,000 South Carolinians moved from welfare to work, and the state made its largest infrastructure investment in a generation without raising taxes.

List of awardees to be recognized at the annual meeting:

Public Servant of the Year: Governor Nikki Haley
Sgt. William Jasper Freedom Award: D. Murray Price, 1st Lieutenant, U.S. Army Air Corps, WWII
Business Leader of the Year: Kevin Marsh, Chairman & CEO of SCANA
Business Leader of the Year: Lonnie Carter, President & CEO of Santee Cooper  

The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the nation’s first state chamber Accredited with Distinction by the U.S. Chamber, is the state’s largest statewide broad-based business and industry trade association representing more than 18,000 businesses and more than one million employees. As the unified voice for business and industry, the Chamber is a catalyst for increasing wealth and enhancing the state’s global competitiveness in order to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians.


« Back to News

Related News