« Back to News

SC Chamber of Commerce Names New President and CEO

Author: SC Chamber

December 12, 2014

Ted Pitts to take helm of state’s largest broad-based business organization

Columbia, S.C. – The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that Ted Pitts has been named president and CEO, effective January 2015. Most recently, Pitts served as chief of staff for Governor Nikki Haley. Current President and CEO Otis Rawl will serve as an advisor to the South Carolina Chamber Board of Directors during the transition period.

“As we move into the future, we are happy to welcome Ted to our team. Ted is an accomplished leader with a great knowledge of issues affecting business,” said Mikee Johnson, president and CEO of Cox Industries and 2014-15 chair of the South Carolina Chamber. “His management experience and demeanor will serve this organization well as he leads the unified voice of business.”

Pitts, 42, is a Lexington native and a graduate of Presbyterian College. He serves as a Major in the South Carolina Army National Guard. He also served in the South Carolina House of Representatives from 2003-2010. Prior to joining the Office of the Governor in 2011, Pitts was a commercial real estate broker for 11 years with Newmark Grubb Wilson Kibler in Columbia. He and his wife, Christina, have three children.

“We are pleased to welcome Ted and know he will bring a great deal to this statewide role that represents each of us,” said Pamela Lackey, president of AT&T, South Carolina and 2013-14 chair of the South Carolina Chamber.

The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce, the nation’s first state chamber Accredited with Distinction by the U.S. Chamber, is South Carolina’s largest statewide broad-based business and industry trade association representing more than 18,000 businesses and more than one million employees. As the unified voice for business and industry, the Chamber is a catalyst for increasing wealth and enhancing the state’s global competitiveness in order to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians.

« Back to News

Related News