« Back to News

S.C. Chamber Elects New Leadership

August 24, 2017

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce today announced its newly elected Officers and Board of Directors for 2017-18.

Leadership terms for the Chamber’s officers and Board of Directors begin on October 1, 2017.

“We are grateful for the leadership our officers and board members provide,” said Chamber President and CEO Ted Pitts. “We look forward to working together not only to make the Chamber stronger but to make South Carolina’s business environment more competitive than ever.”

Chamber Officers are:

Jack Sanders (Chairman) – Jack Sanders became Sonoco’s eighth CEO on April 1, 2013. He serves on the Board of Directors and Executive Committee and leads the company’s Management Committee. During his 28-year career with Sonoco, Sanders has played an integral role in growing the company by leading all Consumer, Industrial and Protective packaging businesses at various points. Sanders, a 1976 graduate of Louisiana State University with a Bachelor of Science in Finance, joined Sonoco in 1988 as National Sales and Marketing Manager, Wire and Cable Reels. Sanders serves on the boards of Sonoco, the South Carolina Governor’s School for Science and Mathematics Foundation, and the Charles W. Coker and Elizabeth H. Coker Foundation.

Barbara Melvin (Past Chairman) – As Senior Vice President, Operations & Terminals for the S.C. Ports Authority, Barbara Melvin oversees terminal operations, information technology and support services, crane and equipment maintenance, engineering, environmental, Port Police and cruise operations. Melvin served as the Ports Authority’s lead staff person on the Charleston Harbor Post 45 Project and the Jasper Ocean Terminal Project. Melvin is a Riley Institute Diversity Leadership participant; a member of the South Carolina Advisory Council of the United States Global Leadership Coalition; a member of the Business Advocacy Committee of the Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce; the Ports Caucus Advisory Board for the United States Congress; and is also a Liberty Fellow. Read more about Melvin’s career here.

Lou Kennedy (Chair-Elect): Lou Kennedy is President, Chief Executive Officer and Owner of Nephron Pharmaceuticals Corporation. She joined Nephron Pharmaceuticals in 2001, and accepted the position of President and Chief Executive Officer in September 2007. Along with her husband Bill, Kennedy helped establish the Kennedy Pharmacy Innovation Center in conjunction with the USC School of Pharmacy. She serves on a variety of business and civic boards.

Charles ‘Ted’ Speth II, Esq. (General Counsel): Ted Speth is a shareholder in the Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak and Stewart, P.C. Columbia office. He practices in the area of employment litigation with an emphasis over the last decade in complex and class action litigation. Speth is a Past Chair of the Greater Columbia Chamber of Commerce.

Chris Barras (Treasurer): Chris Barras is an Executive Director in the Greenville office of Ernst & Young LLP. He has over twenty-seven years of experience in public accounting, specializing in tax services. Barras oversees E&Y’s state and local tax advisory practice in South Carolina and has Carolinas/Southeast area responsibilities within E&Y’s indirect tax practice, providing tax advisory services to companies in a wide variety of industries. Barras specializes in multistate income and franchise taxation, state tax advocacy, and tax accounting considerations for public and private companies. In addition, he oversees services in the areas of property tax, sales & use tax, incentives, employment tax, etc. 

Pete Selleck (Commerce Chair): Pete Selleck is Chairman and President of Michelin North America, Inc.  He is responsible for coordinating all activities of Michelin in North America. Selleck joined Michelin in 1982 and has served in manufacturing and general management positions in Greenville, S.C., and Clermont-Ferrand, France. The first half of his Michelin career was focused on engineering, quality, operational and leadership roles in North American manufacturing plants. Subsequently, he served as Chief Operating Officer of the North American Passenger Car Tire Division, Chief Operating Officer of the European Passenger Car Tire Division and President of the Global Truck Tire Division.

Newly-elected members of the Board of Directors include:

Matt Puckett
Senior Vice President
Arthur J. Gallagher & Company

Dee Dee Henderson
Piedmont/Upstate region at Agape Senior Care

Greg Taylor
Managing Partner
Dixon Hughes, Greenville

Paul Mitchell
Managing Partner
South Coast Paper & SC Community Bank Chairman of the Board

Richard Shaffer
Sr. VP, Growth Markets & Enrollment Center
Colonial Life

Henry Tisdale
Claflin University

Dave Solano
General Manager
Enterprise Holdings

Leesa Owens
Director of Community Relations
Michelin, North America

Joe Clark
Shareholder, Management
Committee Member
Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd P.A.

John Harvey
Plant Manager, BP
Cooper River Petrochemical Plant

Tim Norwood
Bistro Holdings

Steve Spinks
The Spinx Company

Bryan Hamrick
Director, HR
Zeus Industrial Products, Inc.

Ben Mustian
Willoughby & Hoefer, PA

Dan Weekly
Vice President
Southern Operations, Dominion Energy

Mason Hogue
Nelson Mullins

Paul Patrick
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
College of Charleston

Members of the Board of Directors elected to a second term include:

Thomas Rhodes
Vice President
Rhodes Companies

Dr. David Cole

Stephanie Kindregan
Director, Public Policy
Kinder Morgan

Chris McCorkendale
VP of Operations, Engineering and Strategic Sales

Sky Foster
Manager Communications

Sidney Locke
Director of Strategic Marketing and Communication
Sage Automotive

Janet Matricciani
Chief Operating Officer
World Acceptance

Sharon Marra
Senior VP & Savannah River National Laboratory Deputy Director
Savannah River Nuclear Solutions

Aaron Lawrence
VP, Corporate Strategic Planning & Business Analytics
Zeus Industrial Products

Lauris Finney
District Operations Manager

James Bennett
Executive Vice President
First Citizens Bank, Columbia

Kay Biscopink
Elliott Davis

Grey Humphrey
Executive Vice President of Sales
Spirit Communications, Columbia

David Jones
Executive Vice President/CMO
Jackson Marketing

Chris Stormer
Bauknight, Pietras & Stormer, P.A.

George R. Jurch, III
General Counsel

Richard Jackson
C.R. Jackson, Inc.

Keith Avery
President & CEO
The Electric Cooperatives of SC, Inc. (Newberry)

Michael Allen
Project Designer
McMillan Pazdan Smith

Chuck Garnett
President and CEO



« Back to News